Member Schools Conference
You are here: Home    
Welcome to the Flint Metro League

Welcome to the Flint Metro League
On June 11, 2014, coaches who received Coach of the Year honors for the 2013-14 school year were honored at the Flint Metro League's annual coaches summit.
The Flint Metro League is an athletic and academic
activities conference made up of similarly-sized
schools located in communities within 15 to 20
miles of Flint, Michigan. Along with athletic
competition in 23 sports, the league sponsors
academic competition in quiz bowl, math and
science; a league-wide student council; and
networking between various faculty departments
including guidance counselors.

Current athletic league officers:

President: Russ Ciesielski, Principal, Linden High
Vice President: Sandy Macut, Principal, Swartz
Creek High School
Secretary: Cathy North, AD, Linden High School
Executive Director: Gary Oyster, Retired AD,

The Flint Metro League began in the fall of 1968
with original league members Ainsworth, Carman,
Fenton, Holly, Lapeer and Swartz Creek.
Enrollment fluctuations over the next forty-plus
years led schools to join, leave, and even return to
the Metro League. Since 1972, the Metro has had
as many as ten and as few as seven member
schools, but has always provided its small Class A
and large Class B high school communities with
stellar competition. Every Metro League school has
Class A status in the MHSAA.

Twenty-three FML teams have won MHSAA state
championships in nine different sports. Among its
athletic alumni are Nathan Miller, a recent member
of the Navy's Blue Angel flying team, and Jake
Long, NFL #1 draft choice. One of the leading
career scorers in boys basketball, Swartz Creek
alum Tim Zeeman, is currently the principal at
former FML
member Lapeer West High School.

Among current FML schools, Swartz Creek is the
largest with 1223 students enrolled for 2012-13;
Linden is the smallest with an enrollment of 923.

FML News

Athletic Site Locations


Athletic Honors

Scholar Athletes

MHSAA State Qualifiers and Tournament Results

School Calendar

Historical Records


League Rules

School Websites

Login Here