Member Schools Conference
You are here: Home    
Welcome to the Flint Metro League

Welcome to the Flint Metro League
On June 11, 2014, coaches who received Coach of the Year honors for the 2013-14 school year were honored at the Flint Metro League's annual coaches summit.
The Flint Metro League is an athletic and academic activities conference made up of similarly-sized schools located in communities within 15 to 20 miles of Flint, Michigan. Along with athletic competition in 23 sports, the league sponsors academic competition in quiz bowl, math and science; a league-wide student council; and networking between various faculty departments including guidance counselors.

Current athletic league officers:

President: Brian Wiskur, Principal, Kearsley High School
Vice President: Doug Lindsay, Principal, Lapeer East High School
Secretary: Paul Gaudard, AD, Kearsley High School
Executive Director: Gary Oyster, Retired AD, Lapeer

The Flint Metro League began in the fall of 1968 with original league members Ainsworth, Carman, Fenton, Holly, Lapeer and Swartz Creek. Enrollment fluctuations over the next forty-plus years led schools to join, leave, and even return to the Metro League. Since 1972, the Metro has had as many as ten and as few as seven member schools, but has always provided its small Class A and large Class B high school communities with stellar competition. Every Metro League school has Class A status in the MHSAA.

Twenty-three FML teams have won MHSAA state championships in nine different sports. Among its athletic alumni are Nathan Miller, a recent member of the Navy's Blue Angel flying team, and Jake Long, NFL #1 draft choice. One of the leading career scorers in boys basketball, Swartz Creek alum Tim Zeeman, is currently the principal at FML member Lapeer West High School.

Among current FML schools, Swartz Creek is the largest with 1223 students enrolled for 2012-13; Linden is the smallest with an enrollment of 923.

FML News

Athletic Site Locations


Athletic Honors

Scholar Athletes

MHSAA State Qualifiers and Tournament Results

School Calendar

Historical Records


League Rules

School Websites

Login Here